Ten Favorite Films from 2011

Just in time for Oscar Week. I shan’t bore you with any Academy Award will win/should win talk– though you can make some inferences from my selections here– and I’ll also dispense with commentary about whether I found 2011 year to be a great year or a bum year at the movies. I only know that I really loved all of these ten pictures, and in some cases for wildly different reasons.

I’ve written about several of them here already, and may offer some further commentary somewhere down the line. Beyond that, I’ll add only my usual caveat, which is that I still haven’t had a chance to see all of the 2011 films I’d like to see– with A Separation and Certified Copy being the two most prominent omissions.

01. The Tree of Life (Terrence Malick)

02. Rango (Gore Verbinski)

03. Take Shelter (Jeff Nichol)

04. Hugo (Martin Scorsese)

05. Midnight in Paris (Woody Allen)

06. Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol (Brad Bird)

07. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy (Thomas Alfredson)

08. Drive (Nicolas Winding Refn)

09. The Descendants (Alexander Payne)

10. Tabloid (Errol Morris)

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

