CT’s Favorite Albums of 2011

Christianity Today‘s music reviewing staff– of which I am a member– voted on the best records of 2011, and while the CT list is hardly a carbon copy of my own, you will notice plenty of overlap. Of course I could quibble with it, as I could any list that isn’t my own, but really, I am simply delighted to see a list in which Joe Henry, Over the Rhine, Paul Simon, and Gillian Welch are rubbing elbows and bumping shoulders.

#1 on the CT list is Josh Garrels, whose album did not make my own list, though I did quite like it. I stick by my original comments about that album, I think– that it is impressively ambitious and very well-executed, as well as frequently moving; also, a bit too long and maybe a little too serious. But for CT, it’s a fine choice, no question.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

