My Morning Jacket: “Circuital”

My brief review of the new My Morning Jacket album, Circuital, is posted at CT. I note with interest– and, I confess, some surprise– that I seem to hold a minority view here, insofar as I think this album is less a return to form and more a step down from Evil Urges. That album was hardly perfect– in fact, parts of it were spectacularly wrong-headed– but I must say that I prefer epic failure to something as flat and seemingly aimless as this new record. Regardless, the My Morning Jacket of the last two or three albums is an entirely different band than the My Morning Jacket of old, and perhaps I’m still trying to figure out how best to appreciate them.

Tags: , ,

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. “Rave On Buddy Holly” « The Hurst Review - June 16, 2011

Leave a Reply

