CT Review: I Was a King

This week marks the release of Old Friends, the terrific new record from Norwegian troupe I Was a King; I reviewed the album way back in November, and this week I’ve reviewed it once again for CT. Truth be told, this is– aside from Long Surrender— the 2011 release I’ve played the most. I’m as surprised as anyone, actually, as this isn’t the kind of record I normally fall in love with– a thoroughly “indie” affair that plays fast and loose with the rules of pop, rock, folk, and metal– but this is a special one, from a special band: Endearingly ramshackle, hypnotic in its careful balance of melody and chaos, and– key for me– full of warmth and heart, where so many similar bands opt for easy irony.  Great stuff all around, and an early favorite for this year.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

