Film Break: “Grown Ups”

My review of the new movie Grown Ups is posted at CT Movies. As you can probably guess, at least if you’ve seen the trailers or read any of the advance reviews, it’s a pretty big stinker. I chose the above still in honor of the luminous Maya Rudolph, who is probably the best part of the movie.

On a related note, I know I haven’t written much about film this year, and that’s simply because I haven’t had the time or the opportunity. But in the next few days, I plan on posting a quick run-through of my favorite films of the year so far, by way of catch-up. Hint: Grown Ups will not be on it.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 responses to “Film Break: “Grown Ups””

  1. Peter T Chattaway says :

    So was the word “crass” your doing this time or was it, once again, shall we say, an editorial intrusion?

    Speaking of Maya Rudolph’s character, when was the last time we saw a film in which one of the main characters is pregnant at the beginning and still pregnant at the end? It’s rare for a movie to feature a pregnant character without having her (a) give birth, (b) have an abortion or (c) have a miscarriage by the end of the movie.

    Oh, wait a minute. Was Maya Rudolph still pregnant at the end of Away We Go, too? If so, I sense a pattern here.

  2. Josh Hurst says :

    I believe the entire “teaser” was substituted by my editor, Peter; the one I submitted was basically the same in meaning but worded differently.

    Wikipedia says that Rudolph was pregnant in real life in 2005 and 2009, so it’s, er, conceivable that her second pregnancy coincided with the filming of Grown Ups.

Leave a Reply

