Josh’s Favorite Albums of the 00s

And there you have it: The countdown is over, my thirty favorite albums of the last decade have been revealed, and, starting next week, I’ll be back to writing regular reviews of new music. I do want to take one last moment, though, to pull this all together. So first, let me point out that the decade list has replaced my old “desert island” list at the top of the page; the point of the desert island list, after all, is to show what my personal tastes are, how they were formed, and what makes music moving to me, and I feel that I accomplished that task with much greater depth in the “Why I Love What I Love” posts than in a mere list of some favorite recordings.

And second, just in case anyone is uninterested in wading through all the commentary that accompanies the full countdown, I’ll list the full thirty here– the albums that meant the most to me, 2000-2009.

1.    Joe Henry, Tiny Voices
2.    Bob Dylan, Love & Theft
3.    Over the Rhine, Ohio
4.    Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus
5.    Sam Phillips, A Boot and a Shoe
6.    Andrew Bird, The Mysterious Production of Eggs
7.    Joe Henry, Blood from Stars
8.    Radiohead, Kid A
9.    Tom Waits, Orphans
10.    The Hold Steady, Separation Sunday
11.    Joe Henry, Civilians
12.    Tom Waits, Real Gone
13.    The Hold Steady, Boys and Girls in America
14.    Richard Hawley, Truelove’s Gutter
15.    Josh Ritter, The Historical Conquests of…
16.    Erykah Badu, New Amerykah: Fourth World War
17.    Arcade Fire, Funeral
18.    Buddy Miller, Universal United House of Prayer
19.    Sam Phillips, Fan Dance
20.    Outkast, Stankonia
21.    Barry Adamson, Back to the Cat
22.    I’m Not There original soundtrack
23.    Joe Henry, Scar
24.    Spoon, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga
25.    Radiohead, In Rainbows
26.    Solomon Burke, Don’t Give Up on Me
27.    Bruce Springsteen, We Shall Overcome: The Seeger Sessions
28.    Buddy and Julie Miller, Buddy and Julie Miller
29.    Over the Rhine, Films for Radio
30.    Bettye LaVette, The Scene of the Crime

Tags:

Leave a Reply

