Blog Update: The Hurst Review in 2010

A slightly-belated Happy New Year to my readers! Obviously, I’ve been on my usual winter sabbatical– 2009 releases are over and done with, the new crop hasn’t quite started in earnest just yet– but I did want to check in long enough to say that there’s plenty of stuff planned for The Hurst Review in 2010, and I’ll be back to regular blogging next week, beginning (Lord willing) with my review of Vampire Weekend’s new album, Contra.

2010 is already shaping up to be a tremendous year for music, with several exciting new releases coming up in the first few months of the year alone. After Vampire Weekend, I’ll be going straight into Spoon, Charlotte Gainsbourg, Patty Griffin, and then onward from there. And I’ve already heard some new releases that will likely remain in rotation throughout the year. In particular, Gainsbourg’s Beck-produced album IRM is a real delight, and Allison Moorer’s Crows— due out in February– is just about a masterpiece. I’ve already written my review of the latter for Christianity Today, and it’s a rave.

In addition, I’ve been working off and on on my list of the Top 30 albums of the last decade. Some seasonal illness and holiday travel have put me behind schedule, but I’m going to unveil the list later this month, and I hope it will be provocative– and surprising.

All this to say: I’m not dead, and neither is this blog. I’m looking forward to a great year, and hope to hear from you all soon!

Leave a Reply

