Blog updates– and, a special announcement!

It’s already been a busy year here at The Hurst Review, and things are only going to get busier: March is another big month for new releases, and, of course, I’m going to try to cover as many of them as I am able. Let me take a quick break from regular programming, however, to note a few minor changes that you might be interested in.

But first, a very special announcement.

young-u2

As some of you may have heard, U2– a modestly successful, regional favorite from Dublin– has a new album coming out very, very soon. As it happens, it was a U2 album (The Joshua Tree, natch) that first made me passionate about music, and they continue to be a band that blesses me like no other. And that’s why, in preparation for the new record, I’ve decided to throw a bit of a U2-themed celebration, and I’ve invited several of my critic and blogger friends to join me. Next Monday, I’ll be compiling a series of reflections on the band, their music, and the difference they’ve made in people’s lives– and I’ll be joined by such guest writers as Beth Maynard (editor of the U2 book Get Up Off Your Knees), Stephen Thomas Erlewine (senior editor of the All Music Guide), Mark Moring (associate editor of Christianity Today), Steve Beard (faith-and-pop-culture guru of Thunderstruck.org), and many others. It’s a very special feature that you will not want to miss, so either add this blog to your RSS feed or make a note to stop by Monday morning and join in the fun!

That announcement out of the way, a few other items to note:

The editor’s choice box at the side of the page is a new-ish feature that perhaps warrants a brief comment. I have long been resistant to including something like this, as I don’t want readers to assume that, if it isn’t in the box, it’s not any good. So let me stress that this box will not feature every single album that comes across my desk that I really like– far from it. Rather, it’s a way for me to give a special boost to the very best records that I hear during the course of the year– and I intend to keep it fairly exclusive, so the records that are in the box are ones that are particularly strong favorites of mine.

I’m writing reviews for Stereo Subversion now, a daily music zine edited by my friend Matt Conner. He and I have been trying to work out a way for me to contribute to the site for a long time now, so I’m excited to say that I’m now officially on their roster, and will be contributing, on average, one music review per week– the links to which will also be provided here, of course.

On a related note, those of you who prefer my film writing might check out the brand new CT Movies Blog, run by Peter Chattaway and featuring contributions from editor Mark Moring and other members of the CT Movies team– including, of course, yours truly.

Finally, let me note that The Hurst Review is on facebook! You can become a fan of the site by clicking over to this page, and it’s a really great way to get the word out about the blog and help me draw in more readers– so, if you like what I do here, please consider making your fandom official!

Now, I’m off to get these U2 reflections together. Much more to come.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

