Dubstep

I confess that dubstep/British garage is one genre of music that I’ve never been particularly taken with. I’ll put it on every now and then for background noise while I’m writing, but, as a general rule, I just don’t find it to be particularly engaging, either intellectually or emotionally. It seems to exists primarily to create mood and atmosphere, which means that it works well as a soundtrack to other activities but doesn’t seem to encourage active listening to me.

All that said… I was a bit bewildered when Burial’s Untrue album became one of the best-reviewed albums of last year, though I don’t think it’s a bad album– it’s spooky, a little creepy, and it certainly gets under your skin. And this year, an artist named Benga has released an album– called Diary of an Afro Warrior— that, to these untrained ears, sounds just as memorably spooky and mysterious, and probably even more eclectic and funky, than Burial’s album did.

So take that for what its worth. If you’re a fan of dubstep, this philistine thinks Benga is worth investigating.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

